Life, homeschooling and running-it's all groovy.

Not dead yet!

So week three is in the books, and I’m into week 4. So far I feel pretty good. A bit tired, but that’s to be expected. My paces are slowing down, but are still a bit above where they are supposed to be for these “easy” runs. I’ve finally decided that I will allow myself one scheduled treadmill run on Sunday afternoon, as that will allow me to sleep in a bit and spend some time with my super supportive spouse! I’ve also switched my long runs to Saturday instead of Sunday, so that I can spend some of those long runs with friends. Friends are good.

Week three was the first week that I ran 6 days, but due to my laziness the week before, I only had 5 days in a row. That will work out the same for this week as well, just due to the schedule being off because of the Red, White, and Blue shoes 5k on July 4th. After that I will be on track with 6 days in a row of running.

THE RWBS 5k was fun! I took my off day on Thursday, and so ran the race with relatively “fresh” legs, although I was still tired. I started out WAY too fast, and paid for it by mile 2. I thought I had eked out a PR, but when I looked at my time from last year, I see that I was only one second faster. That was with walking twice. 😦 Not much to be said there, as I didn’t train for a faster 5k, so I got what was coming to me. Still under 30 minutes, which 3 years ago seemed like an impossible dream. It was great to go and see my wonderful running friends crush their previous times–and it was a gorgeous day on top of that.

I just spent some time looking at my past data on my Garmin, and honestly, I am surprised that I’ve done as well as I have and have been as injury-free as I have, given the amount of running that I have done. I haven’t done nearly enough running in the past to do the types of races that I have been doing. I am interested and somewhat excited to see what happens with this plan!

I have an off day tomorrow, and I’m going to enjoy it. This week and next week are the last two “easy” weeks in the plan-after that, it starts getting real. Looking at my “A” goal-it’s going to be a stretch, but there’s no reason not to go for it. I am at the “B” goal pace right now, without trying very hard, so I am going to work at this. Time will tell, all I can do is put in the work!

Leave a Reply

